International Support Statement

Market segment and country specific approval:

For more information on our EOL Policy please visit:

There are four main types of certifications to consider:

  • Regulatory/Legal (usually required)

Regulatory certifications include FCC, IC and CE which provide legal standing to sell a device into the USA, Canada and the European Economic Area respectively. Some countries may not have their own regulatory bodies and will accept FCC or CE mark. Sales into the EU must be made through an authorized European distributor to meet WEEE Directive compliance requirements. In certain countries, Cradlepoint devices fall into a device classification that is currently unregulated, and thus our devices are exempt from the Regulatory requirements that may apply to other devices.

  • Cellular Industry Certification (sometimes required)

Cellular certifications include PTCRB and GCF-CC. These certifications mean the devices properly connects to UMTS/HSPA+ & EDGE/GPRS/GSM networks. USA and Canada uses PTCRB, EU uses GCF-CC.

  • Carrier (usually not required)

Carrier (or operators) certifications are commonly required in the USA and requested in Canada but are rarely required in other countries/regions. If required, additional operator-specific certifications may be pursued on a business priority basis. Legally, the devices may be activated on carriers without any additional certification.

  • Industry standards (typically not required)

Cradlepoint devices have received WiFi Alliance certification (if applicable) and are RoHS and RoHS-2 compliant. Some products also have additional certifications such as SAE or MIL-810G for shock and vibration or UL for safety. In certain local jurisdictions UL may be legally required.

WiFi channels note:

Cradlepoint products with a –INTL and –EU/-UK SKUs include a special build of code that enables and disables WiFi channels to comply with EU law. The –INTL and –EU SKUs are not legal to use in North America (USA, Canada). The –INTL, –EU and -UK SKUs are required for use in Europe for products with 5GHz WiFi (AER products, IBR1100).

Country certifications:

Legally, we know the following certifications cover the following countries. Some additional countries may accept one or more of these certifications as well but may not officially be part of their governing body:

  • FCC: 50 States, Guam, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands. Plus: Anguilla, American Samoa, Cayman Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau
  • IC: Canada, provinces
  • CE: (European Economic Area) Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England (UK), Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
  • Plus: Andorra, Georgia, Gibraltar, Maldives, Monaco, San Marino, Sao Tome & Principe, Seychelles, Vatican City, Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Reunion Faroe Islands, Greenland, Guernsey, Jersey, Isle of Man, Montserrat

Certification definitions:

  • FCC: Federal Communications Commission
  • IC: Industry Canada
  • CE Marking: European Community Marking
  • PTCRB: certification forum by North American cellular operators
  • GCF-CC: Global Certification Forum Conformance Certification Criteria
  • WiFi Alliance: trade association
  • RoHS: Restriction of Hazardous Substances Directive

See for product specific certifications and certificate downloads.